Finland Dumps Russia 3-0; Heads to Final

It took one rather gutsy decision by Finland’s Mikael Granlund that would eventually break Russia’s bid for their fourth straight gold-medal game as Finland beat Russia for the second time in the 2011 Men’s World Championships earlier today. Granlund scored what would stand as the game-winner when he accurately executed a lacrosse-like goal which has since gone viral and even has the likes of TSN calling it the goal of the year.
Continue reading “Finland Dumps Russia 3-0; Heads to Final”

Russia Rallies Past Canada En Route to Semifinals

(courtesy of AFP PHOTO / JOE KLAMAR)

Having played two periods of what looked like hopeless hockey, Team Russia overturned a 1-0 deficit against a favorite rival to secure a place in the semi-finals of the 2011 Men’s World Championships. Canada would grab the first goal of the game on a Jason Spezza breakaway in the second period and would hold on as Russia failed to convert on every powerplay they got through the interval. Russia was even gifted a 4-minute man advantage after Ilya Kovalchuk received a stick to the face by his own teammate only to have the ref pinch John Tavares, they would fail to bother goalie Jonathan Bernier with any real pressure.
Continue reading “Russia Rallies Past Canada En Route to Semifinals”

Russia Names Squad for 2011 Championships

Earlier this morning, Team Russia head coach Vyacheslav Bykov named his team for the 2011 Men’s World Championships. The roster is slighlty different than the one Bykov took to the Euro Hockey Tour (which Russia won) with the addition of a few more NHL’ers and one key KHL’er. Ilya Kovalchuk returns to the team which he will most likely captain having done so last year, Dmitri Kulikov of the Panthers will be on the blue-line while his teammate Evgeni Dadonov wasn’t selected despite playing in the Euros. Also joining the team are Nikolai Kluemin of Toronto and Fedor Tyutin of Columbus while Alexander Radulov, who is one of the best players in Russia, will also suit up for Sbornya.

The team goes as follows:

Vasily Koshechkin (HC Severstal)
Konstantin Barulin (Atlant)
Evgeni Nabokov (New York Islanders)

Vitaly Atyushov (Metallurg Magnitogorsk)
Fedor Tyutin (Columbus Blue Jackets)
Dmitri Kalinin (Salavat Yulaev Ufa)
Konstantin Korneyev (AK Bars)
Alexei Yemelin (AK Bars)
Ilya Nikulin (AK Bars)
Dmitri Kulikov (Florida Panthers)
Denis Grebeshkov (SKA St.Petersburg)
Nikolai Belov (HC Neftekhimik)

Alexei Morozov (AK Bars)
Danis Zaripov (AK Bars)
Ilya Kovalchuk (New Jersey Devils)
Konstantin Gorovikov (UHC Dynamo)
Nikolai Kulemin (Toronto Maple Leafs)
Evgeny Artyukhin (SKA St.Petersburg)
Alexander Radulov (Salavat Yulaev Ufa)
Maxim Afinogenov (SKA St.Petersburg
Sergei Zinovjev (Salavat Yulaev Ufa)
Vladimir Tarasenko (HC Sibir)
Alexei Kaigorodov (Metallurg Magnitogorsk)
Alexei Tereshchenko (Ak Bars)
Aleksandr Burmistrov (Atlanta Thrashers)